Peeling Back the Layers


Peeling Back the Layers

   A kitchen tool like the one pictured above is useful for peeling vegetables. I like to use mine for peeling potatoes or carrots. Sometimes I use the peeler to make small pieces of carrot for a salad. With a peeler, I can peel layer after layer off the carrot until there is hardly anything left. In a sense, it could be said that a carrot has many layers.

   In a similar way, there are many layers in God’s Word. God has truths hidden in His Word just waiting for us to discover. “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but those things which are revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may do all the words of this law.” Deuteronomy 29:29 NKJV

   God isn’t hiding truths from us; rather, He is hiding them for us – for us to find. How many times have you read a Bible verse, but one day as you are reading, the verse seems to leap off the page? It’s like you never saw it before, or you now have a new level of understanding because a truth has been revealed to you. The more you read and study God’s Word, the more you will learn and discover. Let’s take a look at four layers in the Old Testament.

   1) The first level is reading God’s Word like a history book or literary work.

   2) The second level is learning God’s plan for Israel.

   3) The third level is to see Jesus in the Old Testament. There are so many pictures of Jesus given in the Old Testament; it is fun to search for them. Try to see pictures of Jesus in your favorite Bible stories. There are pictures of Him in the Passover Lamb, in the brazen serpent raised up in the wilderness, in the ark with one door, and in Joseph, the beloved son. The list goes on and on. The Old Testament is filled with pictures of Jesus.

   4) The fourth level is to see Jesus in the names in the Bible. For instance, the name “Joshua” means Yahweh is salvation. Let me share another example from the names listed in the genealogy of Genesis 5. The following is based on the Hebrew names, the original language of the Old Testament.

            Adam               = “Man”

            Seth                = “Appointed”

            Enosh             = “Mortal”

            Kenan             = “Sorrow”

            Mahalael         = “The Blessed God”

            Jared               = “Shall  Come Down”

            Enoch              = “Teaching” or “Declaring”

            Methuselah      = “His Death Shall Bring”

            Lamech            = “Despairing”

            Noah                = ”Comfort, Rest”

   Now, put it all together, and this is what you have: “Man [is] appointed mortal sorrow, [but] the Blessed God shall come down teaching or declaring His death shall bring [the] despairing comfort, rest.

   What a wonderful message God had hidden in His Word just waiting to be found! I know there are more levels to God’s Word; I just haven't discovered them yet. Why not join me in the treasure hunt?